TeknolojiUncategorized

What you need to know about the security of your Facebook account…

Social media apps like Facebook collect a lot of data about us. Some of this data (such as which groups you belong to, who you’re looking for, what you share with Messenger) is collected so that they can provide better advice and matchmaking about our social environment. But other than that, there’s a lot of data that’s collected that doesn’t make much sense. Data such as your IP address, which ads you click on, which browser you use to browse the internet, how much you visit a site, screen size, location, device you use are collected either by Facebook itself or by Facebook’s partners.

Although the situation is not very different in other social media applications, I would like to focus specifically on Facebook security in this article. The reason is that Facebook’s large advertising tools affect more audiences than anticipated (Facebook users are usually middle-aged and older), and it makes it difficult for users to keep these settings in check by constantly changing the security and privacy settings on the app and website.

Let’s start going into the details of the settings for a more ‘secure’ Facebook… Clear your data collected by Facebook


Facebook continues to collect your data even when you’re not using the app or website. Thousands of sites and apps that you sign in with or use Facebook advertising tools continue to stream their own collected data to the Facebook network.

You can access this data in Settings > Privacy at the See or delete activity outside of

Facebook. Here you will find the option to clear the Past. Unfortunately, the option to clear the history will not really ‘clean up’, only sever the relationship between the apps you have associated with Facebook in the past. Facebook never deletes anything.

In the same section, you’ll find manage future activity settings, and from there you can make sure facebook doesn’t make such connections in the future.

But keep in mind that third-party apps and websites will continue to stream data to Facebok.

With this setting, you only prevent Facebook from using this data for ads that target you, and you turn off the option to sign in with Facebook. Don’t sign in with Facebook on any other websites and apps anyway, use a separate username and password for each service if possible.

Keep your location information private

If you’re using the Facebook mobile app, one important thing to know is that every time you browse Facebook, every time you like it, every time you tag it, the app saves your location information. Moreover, depending on your settings, it can store this location information and use it for targeted advertising purposes even when you are not using the app.

The quickest way to limit location services is to go from your phone settings to Privacy > Location Services, where you’ll never change the permissions to use all social media apps, especially

Is that really enough to stop Facebook? Of course not! Facebook will continue to estimate our approximate subject thanks to the network (GSM or Wi-Fi) network you are connected to. But at least he won’t know exactly where you are.

Block data collected by Facebook’s partners

We know that the option to sign in to Facebook’s other apps and websites is very convenient and easy. But as we mentioned above, it doesn’t provide you with this service for free. In return, it collects considerable data and provides access to data in its system to these companies that you log on to. This includes your name, photo, email address, and other data you leave publicly available. In fact, a shopping site that has a deal with Facebook, for example, can instantly track which posts you like.

Moreover, keep in mind that even political parties or other organizations that do not have a visible agreement can always access your data (even if Facebook does not notify

you). To better understand this topic of follow-up and what it can cause, I highly recommend watching Documentaries The Great Hack and Social Dilemma.

There’s nothing you can do about the data collected and shared in the past, it’s gone now. However, you can turn off this sharing in the future; Go to the Privacy and Security > Settings > Apps and Websites in the Facebook settings and remove the permissions you gave to sign in.

Limit who can find and view your account

Anyone who googles your name with facebook default settings can access your Facebook profile.

Change this setting in Settings > Privacy > How people can find you. Even turn off phone number and email call while you’re at it.

It’s nice to share what you’ve been through in your daily life with your family and

İlgili Makaleler

Başa dön tuşu